Any bowl segmenting people out there?

Jolie0708

Reaction score
First name
Jolie
I have wanted to try some segmenting on bowls, I have my cut off sled ready & my stop for lengths, my only question is how thick the segments should be? Or what have yall done as far as thickness? What's too thin? Total novice here, but ready to learn & branch out more other than smaller bowls & pens. Thanks so much for the info in advance!

Nature Man

Reaction score
First name
Chuck
Anxious to see the responses here! I've seen several in the past, some of which are beyond awesome! Chuck

woodtickgreg

scroll, flat, spin
Staff member
Administrator
Global Moderator
Founding Member
Forum Moderator
Reaction score
First name
Greg
First on I ever did I just used 3/4" stock and then cut it to various lengths as I went along to make the rings. You can also add thinner pieces between the thicker rings for visual effect. Different colors of woods etc. It's all up to the maker. They can be simple to very complex.

2feathers Creative Making

Reaction score
First name
Frank
I am not a bowl turner as of the moment but I am a bowl inspector. :cowboy: I have run up on everything from 3 species glued side by side leaving a vertical stripe bowl, to a cousin who makes bowls with a 3 and 4 digit piece count. As does our "LAMPSHADE" turner here on woodbarter.

Tony

Hardwood Enthusiast
Staff member
Global Moderator
Reaction score
First name
Tony
I've done some, use what thickness works for you. Just make sure all the pieces you use for each ring are the same. You can vary from ring to ring but it's important that they are the same for individual rings.

Jolie0708

Reaction score
First name
Jolie
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
I do nothing but segmented bowls (well over 500 so far) but not the kind you are probably thinking of. You can see mine here and beyond:

www.phinds.com/bowlcentral/