Craftsman Table Saw Question

Johnturner

Proud Member
Reaction score
First name
John
@Sprung suggested I move this here so more people can react:
I have a craftsman table saw, it was and is working fine EXCEPT for one little thing: The saw is a few degrees off 90 and the spiral thingy attached to the saw under belly that moves the saw came disconnected from the wheel. It is still attached to the wheel but not to the saw. It seems like an easy fix but not for me. Can you provide any help?
Here are some pix
20191007_134432.jpg 20191007_134447.jpg 20191007_134630.jpg 20191007_135145.jpg 20191007_135234.jpg 20191007_135407.jpg While checking today it seems straighter than it has been, and everything seems attached - But if I turn the angle wheel any more to get that last 1/16 the spiral bar will detach from the area where it attaches to the saw.
Any suggestions?
Thanks John

kweinert

Reaction score
First name
Ken
I'm no expert, but a couple of things to keep in mind:

* is your square actually square
* are you measuring blade to table or blade to insert
* I would think that there should be some type of pin or stop on the end of the drive screw
* (and you probably already know this) once you're sure it's square then you can adjust the pointer so it sits at zero if it's off a little bit

I know - not very helpful and I am far from the mechanical one in the group. Those are just things I'd check if it were me. Hopefully it's a little bit of help. If nothing else it's comic relief :)

Sprung

Amateur Sawdust Maker
Reaction score
First name
Matt
John, somewhere on your saw will be a data plate (or probably a sticker on yours) that will have what specific model it is, will probably include serial number as well. Will probably be on the back, maybe on a side, not seeing it there on the front. Could you get a picture of that? Knowing the exact model and being able to look up a parts diagram could be helpful in figuring out what is going on.

Dmcoffman

Retired Rent-a-Engineer