Dismiss Notice
Woodbarter has upgraded to HTTPS. Please see click here for all the details.

Found a time capsule yesterday...

Discussion in 'Kenbo's Chat Room' started by Herb G., May 29, 2019.

1. Herb G.

Herb G. Member Full Member Thread Starter

First name:
    Herb
    Well, kind of anyway. I still do side work now & then for people I know well. (I am a retired electrician, BTW.)
    So, I get a call over the weekend & I was asked to go look at a building around the corner from me to see if it can be rehabilitated into a new business. It is nothing to look at, just part of a 3 store strip center.

It was a business machine repair place back in the day. It's been closed since we moved in here back in 2003.
    There was an old sign in the filthy front window that said "Typewriter Repairs".
    Another said "Authorized Adco Dealer." I don't know what Adco sold, but they're out of business today.

Anyway, I met the agent there & we went thru the place to check it out yesterday. There was a small front counter, and a big workroom behind a door in the lobby.
    The lobby had a small glass display cabinet still full of IBM Selectric typewriter font balls in their original packaging. Remember those changeable steel balls for different fonts, anyone?
    The power was turned off who knows when, so we had to use flashlights to walk around in there. Dust was 3" thick on everything, but I could see a lot of parts drawers on steel racks, workbenches, various tool chests, and other office equipment stacked everywhere.

It was a time capsule for sure. Old manual typewriters, manual adding machines, postage scales, you name it, it was strewn all over the place. I found out the owner died back in 1989, and this place had been sitting there empty ever since. I'm sure it was a busy shop at some point, but it's been out of business for a long, long time too.