Gorilla glue for segmented turning

larry C

Reaction score
First name
Larry
Guys, I've been wondering if any of y'all have ever used Gorilla glue for closed segmented turning? I've been using Titebond III for several years, and it
works fine....but I've been thinking if the foaming qualities of Gorilla glue might solve a problem when there is a minute gap between segments...the main problem that I would expect is the "tack time" of Gorilla may cause a problem...

I would appreciate your thoughts..

Larry

DLJeffs

Reaction score
First name
Doug
We use Gorilla glue in some parts of the guitar building stuff I've been doing. Usually, we use Gorilla glue when we need the glue not to shrink when drying, also when we're gluing two different materials (ie, acrylic binding to the wood guitar body, not wood to wood). So I would think one could use it for the exact purpose you are thinking about. The only thing I notice with Gorilla glue is it feels sort of rubbery flexible, for quite some time. Maybe in a small joint that wouldn't even be noticed. But I used it binding the last guitar and after letting it dry for 48 hours, it stuck the tape to the guitar body as well as epoxy, and it sanded down just like Titebond or epoxy.

Last edited:

calabrese55

Reaction score
First name
mike
What are you using to cut your segments. Wedgie sleds are the general standards and marking the wedge stock length prior to cutting can eliminate a bunch of fit issues.
There are tons of vids on YouTube but this one kind of shows what i am suggestion.
Lastly I would not recomend Gorilla Glue the gap filling you are looking for will be quite weak .
Check this out
calabrese55

larry C

Reaction score
First name
Larry
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
What are you using to cut your segments. Wedgie sleds are the general standards and marking the wedge stock length prior to cutting can eliminate a bunch of fit issues.
There are tons of vids on YouTube but this one kind of shows what i am suggestion.