Dismiss Notice
Woodbarter has upgraded to HTTPS. Please see click here for all the details.

Hello to other woodworkers, goodbye to the hobby...

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by MrSeabass, Jun 19, 2019.

1. MrSeabass

MrSeabass Member Full Member Thread Starter

First name:
    Sebastian
    For membership reasons I have to post here before I can post in the classifieds, so... hi.

Long story short, I've been a hobbyist woodworker since I was a kid and spent the past few years as a silent observer trying to make it into something more than a hobby. Made some creative pieces, oddball furniture, just stuff I liked to make on a whim for a while. Unfortunately I have had to make a hard decision this past weekend and walk away from it all. A combination of work/isolation, location (I hate the suburbs and want to leave), enthusiasm, finances, and - sorry to be a downer - loss of my woodworking father a few years ago means firing up the table saw no longer makes me happy and is keeping me from 'escaping' to something better. I am considering selling my house and moving closer to a walkable city area (which means for all intents and purposes, I will no longer own a garage or workshop/workspace) and my garage full of 'what could have been' tools and supplies is the last thing preventing me from pursuing this. So basically, I joined here to begin the long process of selling my regret in hopes that someone else will find the joy I can't seem to locate :(

• Sincere Sincere x 1
  2. T. Ben

T. Ben Member Full Member

First name:
    Troy
    Sorry to hear all of that,hopefully you’ll have something I’d like to have.

• Thank You! Thank You! x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  3. Tony

Tony Hardwood Enthusiast Staff Member Global Moderator Full Member

First name:
    Tony
    Sebastian, I'm sorry to hear it no longer brings you joy, that sucks big time. Maybe we can be beneficial to you and your tools can continue to get use in new shops. Tony

4. ripjack13