Dismiss Notice
Woodbarter has upgraded to HTTPS. Please see click here for all the details.

In search of advice

Discussion in 'Carving Forum: Hand, Power, & Chainsaw Carving' started by David Van Asperen, Nov 30, 2017.

1. David Van Asperen

David Van Asperen Member Full Member Thread Starter

First name:
    David
    My 13 year old grandson want to start whittling and has asked me for advice on the right tools for him.
    Rhett lives in Grapevine Texas and I live in Huron South Dakota so this is a text and phone conversation taking place. I have no real experience in this area and only a little information as to what he is wanting to do and hope to create but , am quite excited that he is wanting to do some wood working.
    I will hopefully be talking with him tomorrow( Nov 30 ) to try and get some idea of where he want s to go.
    The first thing I am going to suggest to Rhett is that he get hooked up with Wood Barter so that he can get some real advice from you members that have and or still doing whittling or hand carving.
    Thanks in advance for the assistance and guidance of a new wood worker.
    I have looked at a few carving jack knives and some beginner carving/whittling books but not much beyond that.
    What support equipment for safety and sharpening are needed?
    Best learning projects for skill and confidence building
    Hell I need help with it all
    Dave

• Way Cool Way Cool x 1
  2. barry richardson

barry richardson Moderator Staff Member Global Moderator Full Member

First name:
    Barry
    David, if he joins up, I have a book on whittling for beginners I will send him....

• Way Cool Way Cool x 2
    • Thank You! Thank You! x 1
  3. David Van Asperen

First name:
    David
  4. Mike Hill

Mike Hill The Bard of Barbecue Full Member

First name:
    Mike
    Thumbguards

5. spaz

spaz Member Full Member

First name:
    Marty