• A New Photo Gallery Has Been Added!!! Please share pictures of your finished projects in the New Photo Gallery for everyone to enjoy browsing. The New Photo Gallery is for FINISHED PROJECTS ONLY!! The New Photo Gallery section was created to give people a place to view photos without having to read through all the threads. Enjoy everyone and please contribute!

Looking for lathe (in all the wrong places)

ZenArtist

Reaction score
First name
James
I am new to wood turning and there is probably already a faq for it but I don't know where it is. I am mostly curious about finding a good lathe for Under $500. Any suggestions?

Last edited:

ripjack13

ɹǝʇɹɐqpooʍ
Staff member
Administrator
Global Moderator
Reaction score
First name
Marc
Under 500$...look at rikon if you're going for new. They have a great 5 year warranty and great cs.
I have the 70-100, but wish i went with variable speed instead of manual belt changes.

woodtickgreg

scroll, flat, spin
Staff member
Global Moderator
Founding Member
Forum Moderator
Reaction score
First name
Greg
Yup, I agree with what Marc said. Spend a little more and get the variable speed rikon. If your buying new it's the best bang for the buck. Look at the 70-220.

Tony

Hardwood Enthusiast
Staff member
Global Moderator
Reaction score
First name
Tony
James, I have a Nova Comet II that I have been meaning to list. If you want to come look and try it out you're welcome to. It's a good lathe, I just upgraded.

Lou Currier

Reaction score
First name
Lou
The question is also lacking what size of lathe you want. If it is a Midi then I would go with the Rikon suggestion but if you are looking for a larger lathe then the choices are far fewer. The Nova 14" DR is a good versatile lathe that falls in the Midi category but has variable digital speed readout and allows for bigger turnings due to it's larger swing radius but is around $600 - $650.

1624807489341.png

ZenArtist

Reaction score
First name
James