ROS Recommendations

Sprung

Amateur Sawdust Maker
Reaction score
First name
Matt
I am in need of a new random orbital sander. Not that mine is no longer working - it is working well - but I am hoping to find something that operates with less vibration and is easier on the hands. I am not wanting to break the bank on this - Festool is out of the budget, unless one of y'all is going to buy it for me - but I am willing to spend some money on a good unit that will last and features considerably less vibration than a standard handheld ROS. Something that has handle placement to be able to use both hands on it would also be a bonus.

I have done some research, but have found much conflicting information as to whether or not any specific ROS will actually meet my desire for less vibration.

For reference, here is a stock image of the ROS I've been using for over 10 years. It has served me well and continues to function well, but it is time to move up to something that will be easier on my hands.

20150325124702KWBJSKZDIR6XQ_340.jpg

Mike1950

Founding Member
Founding Member
Reaction score
First name
Mike
I used dewalts for yrs. Got the Bosch a few years ago- less noise and vibration- Dc is good. damn canister is tough to get off and on though- but on the plus side it never comes off by itself. I would buy it again

Sprung

Amateur Sawdust Maker
Reaction score
First name
Matt
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
I used dewalts for yrs. Got the Bosch a few years ago- less noise and vibration- Dc is good. damn canister is tough to get off and on though- but on the plus side it never comes off by itself. I would buy it again

Mike, you wouldn't happen to know which model your Bosch is, would you? They have a number of different models available.

Tom Smart

Reaction score
First name
Tom