Hello from Murray County, Georgia

Andrew M

Reaction score
First name
Andrew
My name is Andrew and I am just getting started in wonderul world of wood working. I am a junior in college on the path of becoming an electrican.

I recently turned my first pen on a friends lathe and instantly became addicted. I am now in the process of purchasing my own lathe and getting started. I have came to Wood Barter to gain as much knowledge as possible from the seasonal pros. Any hints or tips about getting started would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks, Andrew

NYWoodturner

Wood Spinner
Reaction score
First name
Scott
Welcome Andrew. Plenty of turners, pen turners, wood and knowledge here and a lot of great folks to pass 'em around. Congratulations on your first lathe and you new found addiction as well. Glad you found us!
Scott

Kevin

Wood is good.
Reaction score
First name
Kevin
Glad you found us Andrew. You sound like a young man with his head screwed on right with his priorities all straight. Don't be bashful about asking questions or sharing experiences. The more you share with us about your process of getting started, the more likely you are to go out the door to class one morning and trip over a free box of "starter blanks".

:innocent:

:welcome2:

Andrew M

Reaction score
First name
Andrew
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
Well I guess my first question would have to be which lathes do you suggest and which ones should I steer away from. Take in to consideration that my budget is very limited due to college.

Thanks, Andrew

woodtickgreg

scroll, flat, spin
Staff member
Administrator
Global Moderator
Founding Member
Forum Moderator
Reaction score
First name
Greg
WELCOME! From Michigan. :welcome2: