Upswept Skinner

Foot Patrol

ABS Apprentice BladeSmith
Reaction score
First name
Scott
Last month I posted a thread on another site looking for a welder that could make a vise for Knife Making. I posted a few pictures and HainesNYT decided to take the challenge. You can find his DIY thread here http://discussions.texasbowhunter.co...highlight=vise. (Moderators If I can not post links, please delete)

For making the vise for me I offered to send him a knife. During our discussions, HainesNYT asked if I would consider making a knife for some one special to him as her birthday was coming up. When I said sure, he asked for an upswept skinner with a gut hook. This would be a first for me as I have never done a gut hook design before. The process started by making a wood mock up of the knife.

attachment.php

Once the wooden mock up felt good I cut out the basic shape of the knife using a bar of 1084 steel from Aldo. I decided to hold off cutting the gut hook until later in the process. I then ground the blade on my KMG.

attachment.php

After the knife was ground I went back to the bandsaw and cut in the gut hook. With a high speed dremel I then ground the gut hook in with a half inch stone wheel. I then hand sanded the blade up to 400 grit.

attachment.php

I then used the Knife Makers Vice HainesNYT made for me to put some file work on the knife. I choose to put 3 arrow heads on the spine of the blade. The blue tape was put on to prevent me from putting scratches on the blade since I had already sanded it.

attachment.php

I then sent the knife off to Lee Oates (Bear Claw Knifes) in Laporte, Tx to be heat treated. He has been making knife for over 30 years and is my mentor. I appreciate all his support and could not be happier with my progress at this stage.

Foot Patrol

Reaction score
First name
Scott
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter